Acre Lodge Ballinameen
Acre Lodge is located in the townland of Acres, just east of the village of Ballinameen. Acres, which also housed Ballinameen Dispensary, was owned by Henry Fry.
In September 1829, Acre Lodge was registered in the name of a James W. Little with a rateable value of £3 16s. It is doubtful that he resided there. That same month, James W. Little Esq. of Annadale was elected to the Carrick-on-Shannon Board of Guardians representing the division of Gillstown along with George M. Hanly Esq of Lavagh.
In April 1852, the position of Medical Officer was advertised for Ballinameen Dispensary. In 1858, the position was advertised again, at an annual salary of £60. In 1858, the lease to both Acre Lodge and Ballinameen Dispensary was held by Thomas Cooney. The value of Acre Lodge had reduced to £1 10s. Cooney, still residing there in 1870, may have been teaching at the local school.
In 1901, Acre Lodge had a thatch roof with 4 windows to the front and 5 rooms occupied by Kate Cooney, "farmer's widow", her grandson Thomas Kenny & wife, and her younger grandsons Tom & Joe Lenahan. She also kept 5 boarders, all stonemasons, and sublet a smaller house to Patrick Furey. The 1911 Census records her as the widow of a National School Teacher. By this time, the house had a slate roof and 6 rooms were occupied.
Acre Lodge is still extant today, nestled in the woodlands behind the Acres housing estate.