1st January 1922
Back to List

In early 1923, during the period of civil war in Ireland, Anti-Treatyites embarked on a concentrated campaign against the Big Houses of the he landed gentry. Between June 1922-April 1923, a staggering 199 Big Houses went up in flames. In the civil war, the only county in Leinster with no burnings was Queens County (now Laois).

Thirty seven of the houses destroyed were those of Free-state Senators, of whom about 20 were old landed families. However, the campaign against the senators is only a partial explanation of the burnings. Most of the landed class were not senators and some were social reformers (even nationalists of a sort).

A Free State Army report of 21 January 1923 states, “with depleted numbers, lack of resources and unified control and almost complete ineffectiveness from a military standpoint, their [Anti-Treaty IRA] policy of military action is slowly changing to one of sheer destruction and obstruction of the civil government.”


The Big House and the Irish Revolution

Destruction of Irish country houses (1919–1923)


Ardtully Castle (Kerry)

Ballydonnellan Castle (Galway)

Ballynastragh House (Wexford)

Castleboro House (Wexford)

Castlehacket (Tuam)

Castle Gore (Mayo)

Clonyn Castle (Westmeath)

Derreen House (Kerry)

Derry House (Cork)

Glenfarne House (Leitrim)

Leap Castle (Offaly)

Lisheen Castle (Tipperary)

Marlfield House (Tipperary)

Mitchelstown Castle (Cork)

Moore Hall (Mayo)

Mountshannon House (Limerick)

Moydrum Castle (Westmeath)

Palmerstown House (Mayo)

Puxley Mansion (Cork)

Springfield Castle (Limerick)

Summerhill House (Meath)

Tynan Abbey (Armagh)

Woodstock House (Kilkenny)



Some buildings associated with these communities