20th August 1839
Back to List

The Irish Poor Law Act of 1838 divided Ireland into poor law unions (in which paupers would receive poor relief). A union was named after the town on which it was centred (where its workhouse was located) and the "union" boundaries were unrelated to those of the civil parishes ( and crossed county boundaries in many cases). Prior to this date, poor relief was administered by parish and these records were kept in the Church of Ireland Vestry Books (held locally).

"The Boyle Union" served the poor of Roscommon North and the adjacent districts of Co. Sligo, and was responsible for the erection and management of Boyle Workhouse.

Patrick Brown, Returning Officer for Boyle Union immediately invited nominations for the Election of Guardians to be held on 19 September. "The Boyle Union" covered these 16 Electoral Divisions:

Co. Roscommon: Ardcarn, Ballinameen, Boyle, Breedoge, Croghan (Estersnow, Killukin + 1 townland from Killummod), Keadue, Rockingham, Shankill.

Co. Sligo: BallinafadKilmactrannyKilshalvyShancoughToomourCoolavinKilfreeKilturra.​

Only landlords or owners of property in the above electoral districts could nominate, vote or be elected to Boyle Union. 

The Ex-Officio Guardians for Boyle Union:—Lord Viscount Lorton (Rockingham House), Owen Lloyd Esq, Oliver D. J. Grace Esq. (Mantua House)Morgan Crofton (Abbey View, Boyle), Thos. McDermott-Roe, Esq. Guardians after having rejected all plans for anything other than new workhouse have written to Mr George Wilkinson, architect of the Poor Law Commissioners on the subject. [Limerick Chronicle - 4 September 1839]


DISCOVER   Places in Boyle Poor Law Union

DISCOVER  Vestry Minute Books for your Parish 

READ MORE  Boyle Workhouse

Some communities associated with this timeline