23rd August 1866
Back to List

As published in the Clare Journal

A List of Cess Payers, appointed by the Grand Jury at Summer Assizes, 1866, Nine of whom are to be associated with the Magistrates at each Special Sessions: 


  • John Cahill, Ballyreen 
  • James Nagle, Glasha
  • Pat Caher, Ballybaun
  • Michael Nagle, Ballaghaline
  • Francis O’Brien, Ennistymon
  • Patt Crowe, Ballybreen
  • Timothy Nagle, Glasha
  • Patt Higgins, Clohanedine
  • Martin Colleeny, Killcarragh
  • Thomas Quinn, Ballygounan
  • Thomas Moran, Lahinch
  • Patt Killeen, Ballyshanny
  • Morgan O’Loghlen, Laghcloone
  • James Shannon, Dough
  • Thomas Crowe, Ballytrasna
  • Peter Scales, Moher
  • Dennis Hillary, Ballyvoe
  • Richard Davies, Kilcarragh. 

Some buildings associated with these communities