1st January 1714
Back to List

On 23 June 1713, James Widney, William Johnston of Tully, Henry Gillespie, and John Stewart served as Commissioners representing certain inhabitants of "Trewgh" who were part of the congregation of Kinnaird, Presbytery of Monaghan. As such, they petitioned the Presbyterian Church in Ireland for the establishment of a new, separate congregation.  The request was granted in 1714, and the new parish was initially called Treugh and later renamed Errigal Trough. The petition and parish formation are recorded in (1) "Records of the General Synod of Ulster from 1691 to 1820", vol. I, p.208; and (2) "History of Congregations of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland", p. 153.

Some communities associated with this timeline

Some buildings associated with these communities