11th June 1831
Back to List

A roll-call (of sorts) for the gentry and strong farmers (cess-payers) of Co. Roscommon in 1831

Roscommon & Leitrim Gazette - Saturday 11 June 1831



The following list contains the names of the persons appointed to take an account ot the population of the County of Roscommon, as also the respective parishes to which they are appointed :

D. W. Kelly, of Ballymurry—Parishes of St. Peter and Drum. ;  George Kelly, of Ballymurry- St. John’s, Rahara, Kilmain, and Killinvoy.  Christopher Taaffe, of Athleague—Tisraragh, Athleague, Toughboy, and Dysart.  Luke Taaffe, of Athleague—Cloontuscait & Kiltevin. Henry Corr, jun. of Durham.—Fuerty.  F. Corr, of Ditto—Roscommon. John Corr, of Ditto —Kilbride. Thomas Rathcliffe of Kiltoom — Killoom&Cam. M. Parker, of Woodberry—Toughmaconnell.

John Duffy, of Athlone —Moore. Charles Dillon, of Bailydock—Creagh. Pat. Fetherston, of Faragher—Cloonygormican, Dunamon, Oran, and Drinatample. William D. Cursy, of Strokeslown—Kilgefin. F. Glancy, of Willsgrove—Kilburn. James McLoughlin of Ballintobber —Ballintobber; Pat Tighe, of Kilgerriff—Baslick.

John Cullinan, of Frenchpark—Kilcorkcy. Daniel Hanley, of Ardgallagher—-Kilmore. Horatio Lawder, of Cloonfinla —Kilglass. Denis Kelly, of Miltran—Killola. .lajnesTunton, of Tarmonbarry--Tarmonbarry. Crofton Carlton of Frenchpark —Kilnamanagh. Joseph Sandford, of Derry —Teboghan. Hugh Morrow, of Roscominoa —Ardcaron. Edward Fry, jun. of Frybrook—Boyle. Thomas Cowen, of Strokestown —Creeve. Francis McGlynn, of Mantua—Kilmacamvea and Shankill.

Thomas Madden, of Knockroe - Kilbryan, Kilcolagh, and Estersnow. Pat. M. Feehely, of Acrelodge—Killrooin. Denis Browne, Cloonfad—Tumna & Killemod (aka Killummod). Pat. Dyer, of Curnaveigh— Killmoin. Arthur Lawder, Cloonfinlagh—Cloonaff. Edward Flynn, of Tulsk—Elphin and Ogula. John O’Farrell, of Bloomfield—Killcooly and Killecan. G. Knox, of Strokestown—Bumlin, Kilburston, and Lisanufiy. Alonzo Lawder, of Cloonfinla—Cloonhnla. Thomas Dillon, of Cloonfad—Aughrim.

The following persons applied to be appointed to the above office, but were unsuccessful:— Garret Murray, Cox Cotton, James Cotton, James McDermott, Denis O’Connor Browne, Joshua Cooper, Francis Keone, Hubert Brennan, Luke Hanly,Thomas Brennan, John R. Croghan, Edward B. Kenny, Thomas D. Hall, James M'Dermott (Cartron) Michael Beirne, John Corr, Michael Hanly, Robert Cryan, Michael O'Farrell, John M'Dermott, Bartholomew Kelly, Bryan Cullen, Daniel Hughes, Patt Tighe, Patt Regan, Patrick H. Feely, William Hussey, Edward Dockry, Cornelius McDonagh.